Getmeoffthisplanet

A look at 21st century earth from the outside.

Rugby and Women

leave a comment »

I used to have an irrational aversion to anything to do with Rugby. I just saw that it was an elitist game for insufferable rich people from inaccessible public schools. Not something that a working class lad from Mansfield could get involved with.

So, football was the way forward for me and the lads I grew up with. And I’m talking about good old English football (or soccer) here – not the mamby pamby American version that looks like a girls version of our Rugby. I ask you, why do grown men need to pad themselves out with that much protective clothing? But comment about our American cousins is for another post.

Australian rugby fan.

If Rugby teams were made up of women dressed like this I might be more interested.

In later life I met girls. By this time, I was well past the point of being able to choose what kind of sport I could partake in. My choices were limited to about none. Especially team sports. People used to say to me “There’s no ‘I’ in TEAM”. “Feck off” would be the wittiest riposte I could muster, “There is an ‘I’ in TIM”.

But the girls seemed to be more interested in Rugby than in Football. Now, please don’t think I am a huge football fan – I’m not. It’s been years since I have been to watch a match. And I left that at half time because of the yob behind me was inviting the visiting guests to ‘*&!? OFF & COME ON YOU £$%?!ERS & WHAT A C*?T T&^T AR$E FECK BLEEEUURRGGH’ (amazingly, this was in the FAMILY stand!). On top of that it was freezing cold and raining directly into my face.

But anyway, girls were into Rugby. So this obviously needed further investigation and a possible re-evaluation of my standing regarding the game with the odd shaped ball (how can you play a game with a ball that could go in any direction when it hits the ground/boot/face?).

The first thing I realised was that Rugby had staggeringly complicated rules. As I write, there is uproar because it appears that some rules have been changed but only for certain leagues or countries. Anyway, I asked a girlfriend of mine if she could explain the rules to me. Such as the scoring system perhaps?

No chance. She admitted there and then she only watched rugby to look at the players legs. Ye gods. So I asked another girl. I got the exact same answer. I asked several more and got the same reply.

It appears that women and girls do not watch rugby. They do not follow rugby. They just look at rugby.

Written by Tim Leal

October 4, 2008 at 5:33 pm

Posted in And another thing...

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

